This article will help you understand the different parts of the ilos Mac Recorder, before, during, and after recording. The Mac recorder is compatible with OSX 10.10+.

Note: If you are on a Windows OS, some aspects of your recorder may differ. Check out this article for more details. 

Control bar- before recording

  1. Close icon: Closes or Minimizes the Recorder.
  2. Status bar: Shows the state of the recording.
  3. Record button: Starts or resumes the recording.
  4. Microphone icon: Used to select your audio input and shows current audio input levels.
  5. Time clock: Shows the current time of the recording.
  6. Webcam: Toggles webcam on/off.
  7. Full screen icon: Allows you to record your entire screen.

Recorder bounds and dimensions:

  1. Current recording dimensions: Displays pixel width x height for your recording.
  2. Drop-down for preset dimensions: Common dimensions for 16:9 aspect ratio. For best playback view, select one of these options.
  3. Custom area tool: Select the Crop icon to drag around what you want to record (will not lock the 16:9 aspect ratio).
  4. Outer bounds of your recording: Everything inside these lines will be recorded.

Recorder Preferences (found on the task bar at the top of your desktop)

  1. Countdown Before Recording: When on, the recorder will countdown before starting the recording.
  2. Automatically go to Videos on ilos: brings you to the ilos application after you finish recording.
  3. Save Copy of Video to This Computer: automatically saves a copy of your recording to your computer (this is recommended! See Re-uploading article).
  4. Automatically copy video link: copies video URL link.
  5. Restore recorder size on launch: recorder will remember previous recording dimensions for next time.

Control Bar - while recording: 

Recorder bounds turn red when recording and blue when paused.

  1. Pause button: Pauses the recording.
  2. Microphone icon: Shows audio level and brings up audio input options.
  3. Time clock: Shows the current time.
  4. Stop button: Stops the recording and uploads it.
  5. Trash icon: Cancels the current recording and starts over.

Control Bar - while paused:

From pause, you can finish or cancel your video. To resume your recording, select Resume.

Control Bar - after finishing your video:

  1. Input box: Title your recording.
  2. Check mark icon: Set your video title and go to video page.
  3. Trash icon: Delete recording and start over.
Did this answer your question?